This is to inform the general public and all government establishments that the Governing Council of the Bayelsa Medical University, Yenagoa, in compliance with the directive of the Executive Governor of Bayelsa State and Visitor to the University, His Excellency, Hon. Henry Seriake Dickson has confirmed the appointment of Professor Ebitimitula Nicholas Etebu as substantive Vice Chancellor of the Bayelsa Medical University and Professor Paingha Joe Alagoa as Deputy Vice Chancellor of the institution with effect from October 2018. These appointments have been made in compliance with the relevant provisions of the Law establishing the Bayelsa Medical University. The two appointments are tenured for five (5) and two (2) years respectively.

Both the Vice Chancellor and the Deputy Vice Chancellor had been instrumental in establishing the Bayelsa Medical University and ensuring the recognition of the institution by the National Universities Commission (NUC), the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) and the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND) as well as the commencement of academic activities in nine (9) programmes of the institution in the 2019/ 2020 session. The Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Governing Council of Bayelsa Medical University, Emeritus Professor Nimi D. Briggs wishes to congratulate Professor Ebitimitula Nicholas Etebu and Professor Paingha Joe Alagoa on their well-deserved appointments as substantive Vice Chancellor and Deputy Vice Chancellor respectively.

Teibowei Marie Therese
Public Relations Officer
For Management.


Academic Staff