Bayelsa State Launches Medical University

Tue 05 Feb at 04:23pm

The National Universities Commission has approved the take-off of the Bayelsa Medical University, the third university in the state and the 48th state-owned university in the country. The approval was given by the Executive Secretary of NUC, Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, in Abuja on Thursday. Rasheed said it was necessary to have a specialised university in the state which would be a pacesetter in medical line judging by the governor’s doggedness in advancing the course of education in the state. The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the establishment of BMU brings the number of universities to 170 in the country. NAN also reports that the BMU is now recognised as the second public medical university and the fourth medical university in Nigeria. It will be recalled that Bayelsa State already has two functional universities; the Niger Delta University, established in 2000, and the University of Africa, established two years ago. The executive secretary said though the commission did not want the proliferation of universities, Gov. Seriake Dickson’s achievements in the two other universities was sufficient encouragement for the establishment of another one to increase enrollment. “With the powers confined on me and the management of NUC, we shall recognise Bayelsa Medical University as the 48th state university and the second public medical university in Nigeria. “It has also become the fourth medical university in Nigeria. “This is because we have two private universities, one in Port Harcourt and the other in Lagos; and now we have two public medical Universities, one in Ondo State and the new one in Bayelsa.

Share this post