Bayelsa Medical University Yenagoa Secures NUC Full Recognition

Fri 22 Feb at 06:03pm

The Bayelsa Medical University Yenagoa ( BMU) has secured full recognition of its programmes recently assessed by the National Universities Commission (NUC). The National Universities Commission (NUC) has the statutory mandate to recognize and accredit academic programmes in all Nigerian Universities. This landmark recognition comes following the enactment of the Bayelsa Medical University Yenagoa (BMU) by Law on the 18th of August 2018 by the Bayelsa State Government. The NUC had undertaken a visitation exercise for the Programmes in the University following which a summary of the results as contained in the Technical Report for the Programmes visited was communicated to the University through the Ag. Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ebitimitula Nicholas Etebu. The Faculties of the Bayelsa Medical University include the Faculty of Sciences (premedical Programme), Basic Medical Sciences, Allied Health Sciences, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Clinical Sciences, Clinical Pharmacology, Nursing Biochemical Engineering and Technology and the International Institute of Foreign Languages. The Recognition letter was signed by Prof. Abubakar Adamu Rasheed, mni, MFR, FNAL, Executive Secretary of the national Universities who recalled that consistent to the creation of the BMU and the formal presentation of strategic documents, including the relevant gazetted law, the Academic Brief and Physical Master Plan, the National University Commission (NUC) has officially written to HE Governor Honry Seriake Dickson, Executive Governor of Bayelsa State and Visitor to the Bayelsa Medical University Yenagoa (BMU) to inform him that with effect from Thursday January 31st 2019, the Bayelsa Medical University has been recognized as the 48th State University and the 170th University in the Nigerian University System. By the copy of this recognition letter, the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board JAMB, the Tertiary Education Trust Fund TETFUND and the National Youth Service Corp NYSC are being notified of the establishment of the University. Congratulations to HE Governor Honry Seriake Dickson, Executive Governor of Bayelsa State and Visitor to the University for yet another giant stride in Education for the good people of Bayelsa State. Accolades to the Ministry of Education Bayelsa State under the leadership of Hon, Jonathan Obuebite, Commissioner for Education.  What a fantastic start for the Pioneer Ag. Vice Chancellor BMU prof. Ebitimitula N. Etebu. Appreciations to the laudable efforts of the infatigable Coordinator of the BMU Mr. Benaiah Oye. Appreciation to Mr. Theo Theodoru, Bayelsa State Consultant on Education for his dexterity and laudable contributions. Appreciations to the Ag. Registrar, Dr. Akpoebi Adesi and kudos to the brilliant team supporting the Vice Chancellor to realize this very unique ambition of Governor Dickson. Certainly the following years will be revolutionary in terms of training manpower in the Health sector

Share this post