Investiture of Prof. Ebitimitula Nicholas Etebu as Honorary Fellow of the Nigerian Council of Physicians and Natural Medicine.

Fri 22 Feb at 06:29pm

The Ag. Vice-Chancellor, Bayelsa Medical University (BMU), Yenagoa Professor Ebitimitula N. Etebu, a distinguished Prof. of Chemical Pathology has been conferred with an HONORARY FELLOW of the NIGERIAN COUNCIL OF PHYSICIANS AND NATURAL MEDICINE in his office Yenagoa on 13th February 2019. In an acceptance speech, Professor Ebitimitula N. Etebu said the award came to him as a pleasant surprise and that it was deeply humbling. He thanked the Council for the recognition of his numerous contributions in the field of medical Science and that it was a great honour to be bestowed with such fellowship at this stage of his professional career. He informed the Council and other special guests present at the investiture ceremony that the establishment of the Bayelsa Medical University, Yenagoa was one of the great achievements of His Excellency Hon. Henry Seriake Dickson, the Executive Governor of Bayelsa State. He said he wholeheartedly shared the vision of the Governor in establishing such a specialized University that will be highly rated globally for the training of persons in the different aspects of medical science as well as providing state-of-the art medical facilities in the institution for the benefit of humanity generally. Professor Etebu stressed that the formal recognition of the Bayelsa Medical University by the National University Commission (NUC), Abuja on 31st January 2019 was a testimony of the hard work that had been put in by the Governor and the Management of the institution in the last couple of months to kick-start academic activities by April 2019.  He said this recognition and award will continue to spur him to work harder to contribute to the development of humanity in the field of medical science. The investiture ceremony was witnessed by some members of the Management Team of the University, such as Prof. Paingha J. Alagoa (Deputy Vice Chancellor) and Dr. Akpoebi Adesi (Ag. Registrar). Also present at the ceremony were some Executive members of the Nigerian Council of Physicians and Natural Medicine such as the Ag. Provost, Prof. Gilbert Ezengige, the Registrar Dr. Bank-Kadejo; the Secretary, Mr. Ekperigha Kenejah and the Publicity Secretary Debbi Diamond. Members of the Bayelsa State Exco present at the ceremony were the State Coordinator, Dr. Okeima Ruth and the Deputy State Coordinator, Mr. Harrow Zuokumor. Other members present were Mr. Bleson Perekebina and Mr. D.O. Okeima. Congratulations to the Ag. VC Prof. Ebitimitula N. Etebu Dr. Akpoebi Adesi Registrar

Share this post